How to Find the Best Vegan-Friendly Chocolates

Did you know that the chocolate you eat originates from the cocoa plant? Because of this, some vegans think that all chocolates are safe to eat, but that’s not the case.

In some cases, other ingredients are added to the chocolates, thus making them unsafe for vegans to consume. Most chocolates contain dairy products, but there can be a number of other ingredients as well.

Extra Ingredients in Chocolates

When searching for vegan-friendly chocolates, it’s essential to look at the label. Remember also that quality chocolates have pure ingredients, high chocolate content, and a lack of additives.

Ingredients should be simple, such as vanilla, soy lecithin, cocoa butter, sugar, and cocoa. Low-quality chocolates, by contrast, have a lot of ingredients, including milk fat, artificial flavourings, food starch, and milk solids.

Therefore, if you are just starting out as a vegan, you should be aware that any chocolate that has milk content is not safe for you.

’Accidental’ Vegan Chocolates

While many chocolates are not vegan because of the flavourings they use, there is a long list of vegan-friendly chocolate brands. But many of these do not advertise themselves as vegan.

For instance, you can buy brands that are whey-free, casein-free, and dairy-free. Such brands are referred to as ‘accidental’ vegan chocolates.

There are many such ‘accidental’ vegan brands, including the following:

  • Fanny May
  • Ritter Sport
  • Trader Joe’s
  • Chocolove

Most Common Brands of Vegan Chocolates

Today’s market has several brands of vegan chocolates that people love. These chocolates are expressly manufactured to be vegan, and their labels clearly mark them as such.

However, some manufacturers produce milk brands from non-dairy substitutes, such as rice milk or almond milk.

Some of the most popular vegan chocolate brands are Sjaaks Organic Chocolates and Whole Foods Brand. You can also look to local chocolatiers for various vegan options.

Other Chocolate Treats Ideal for Vegans

In case you don’t want to eat chocolate bars or chocolate chips, there’s a plethora of other chocolate treats that can satisfy your cravings, and yet maintain your health.

But before you purchase these chocolate treats from a store in your area, make sure to read the labels. This will help you know the ingredients that have gone into making these treats.

When deciding which of them to go for, consider the following recommended brands:

  • Reese’s Puffs Cereal
  • Chocolate Crème
  • Wax Orchards
  • Cocoa Powder

Concluding Remarks

Every chocolate-loving vegan out there needs to be wary of what they eat. With this in mind, the best thing to do is to read the labels in order to know the ingredients being used.

So, if you’re a committed vegan and simply have to eat chocolate, be sure to opt for vegan-friendly brands.